New Year’s Resolution Syndrome

Oz Chen
4 min readJan 23, 2020

If you’re looking for a Gary V style rant about hustle, ya betta look elsewhere.

If you’re looking for the Lazy Man’s Cure to the New Year’s Resolution, or Goal Setting for Neurotic Underachievers Who Like Checklists…press on :)

January rolls around. It’s going to be a new year, so you get excited and make a list of goals.

This year I’ll…

  • Get healthier
  • Develop closer relationships with family and friends
  • Focus on my love life
  • Make more money
  • Read Oz’s Hippiecritical newsletter
  • Travel to a new country

Then next December rolls around and you wonder where the year has gone.

This has been my experience when I set too many goals.

Welcome to New Year’s Resolution Syndrome.

Spread yourself thin and achieve little.

I’m going to share with you another way to tackle that laundry list of goals.

Look at your goals through the lens of energy

If you’re like me, writing a checklist of everything you want to do feels good…when you’re writing it.

--

--